Adventures on the coldest place on earth

IMG_2254 IMG_2256 IMG_1934 IMG_1699IMG_2102IMG_1633

IMG_1599IMG_2114IMG_2196IMG_1670Well…maybe not the coldest place on earth. But certainly the coldest place I’ve ever stepped foot on. Our Harbin experience is irreplaceable and one-of-a-kind. There were moments when I thought that I would not survive the beyond freezing temperatures (we’re talking -20 to -30 degree Celsius). There were plenty of times when I lost sensation in my fingers and toes due to the extreme numbness from the icy cold.

Harbin’s ice and snow sculptures wowed me to no end. When the Chinese build, they really build. The biggest, tallest and most complicated sculptures gathered every year for the Harbin Ice Festival and we got to see it.

The Siberian Tiger Park was in itself an adventure of a lifetime. Imagine being in the cage this time, and having 500 pound tigers roaming around you.

We also walked on the frozen Songhua river. In fact, I jumped on it. And we watched brave souls swim in the pool while we were wrapped up in layers and layers of winter clothing.

Harbin was worth it even though I almost died (or so I felt). But I don’t think I’ll ever go back again.

Leave a Reply

