Paris’s Promenade Plantée vs NYC’s High Line

IMG_1263 IMG_1267 IMG_1270 IMG_1279 IMG_1289 IMG_1292 IMG_1295Paris’s Promenade Plantée has often been compared to NYC’s High Line, just like many other things that make these two cities so attractive. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now you’ll know that I absolutely adore both cities and would jump at any chance to live in either of these cities. Not surprisingly I’ve been asked several times to compare both cities, a little activity that I’ve come to enjoy.

NYC’s High Line was one of many highlights we saw and it had this understated, industrialized quality to it that was authentic and quite frankly, extremely pleasant to walk on. The views of Manhattan cutting through Chelsea and the meatpacking district were a treat.

Paris’s Promenade Plantée was equally enjoyable with lush plants and flowers reminding you of summer at every corner. It had a more aesthetic quality to it, typical of the way the French do things. The Parisian buildings painted the perfect backdrop for the entire walk.

Which do I prefer? I honestly can’t answer but I like both (a reflection of my affection for both cities perhaps?). And as my husband would describe me as someone who likes to have her cake and eat it too, I’ll prefer not to choose one city over the other for now and just have both at different times 🙂

IMG_9066 IMG_9080 IMG_9087 IMG_9093 IMG_9100

Leave a Reply

